2021 Irene Adler Prize Goes to Isabella Goodman: Journalism Main Wins $1,000 Scholarship for Ladies Writers

Isabella Goodman has gained the 2021 Irene Adler Prize for her essay, “A Catalog in Friendship.” Goodman, who will obtain $1,000 towards her training, is pursuing her B.A. in journalism with a minor in artwork historical past from American College.

Based in 2017, the annual Irene Adler Prize presents a $1,000 scholarship to a girl pursuing a level in journalism, inventive writing, or literature at a acknowledged post-secondary establishment within the U.S. or Canada, based mostly on an essay competitors.

“Isabella’s successful essay brims with wistfulness and nostalgia and genuinely captures the challenges of sustaining friendships through the written phrase throughout the isolation of the COVID-19 pandemic,” stated prize founder Lucas Aykroyd. “Her evocative, textured prose stood out in what was undoubtedly probably the most aggressive subject of entries in Irene Adler Prize historical past.”

For the primary time ever, three entrants earned honorable mentions. Matisse Haddad (“The place It Hurts”) is pursuing her M.F.A. in screenwriting on the AFI Conservatory. Natasha Maki Jessen-Petersen (“Recent Paint”) is in search of her M.A. in knowledge journalism at Stanford College. Lara Miller (“The Alchemy of Ache”) is engaged on her M.F.A. in playwriting at Carnegie Mellon College.

Aykroyd is an award-winning Vancouver author and public speaker whose work has appeared within the New York Instances, the Washington Submit, Ms. Journal, Nationwide Geographic, and espnW. A member of the Affiliation for Ladies in Sports activities Media, he has coated ladies’s hockey for IIHF.com at 5 Olympics and serves because the editor-in-chief of WomenSport Worldwide’s e-newsletter. Aykroyd holds an M.A. in English literature from the College of Victoria, which gave him the Distinguished Alumni Award.

The Irene Adler Prize is called after the heroine of the 1891 Sherlock Holmes detective story “A Scandal in Bohemia” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. 

For extra on the Irene Adler Prize, the 2021 successful essay, and previous winners, see:


The 2022 Irene Adler Prize submission tips can be launched in January.

Lucas Aykroyd
Net Website: lucasaykroyd.com
Electronic mail: lucas@lucasaykroyd.com

Associated Hyperlinks

Supply: Lucas Aykroyd